Worth writing for.

27 Nov
A love for typography just isnt enough, it's about them words.

A love for typography just isn't enough.

So it may have just hit me that I’m a writer. -Of some sort.
It seems almost silly that I’ve been blogging for several months now, and I’ve only just realised through casual conversations (in and out of the blogosphere) that I’m a writer. It’s not an entirely new discovery though.

Seth Godin has a recent post up on his blog talking about ‘The Death of Personal Blogs’. With writing and blogging, it’s become a conversation on the blogosphere – more than just any old ‘cat’ blog – but looking deeper into the spread and share of ideas and to “chronicle” such thinking.

I’ve come to realise in the past few months that writing has an undefined place in my soul. It has become a vice, an escape from the usual 9-5 and it allows me to connect.
And I adore words. I love the idea in linguistics that the more words we know, the more efficiently and effectively we are able to communicate. I love finding the perfect word or set of a words that most accurately conveys what I’m trying to say. And I even like that I can’t always find them… the indescribable is a good place to be, in my book anyway.

And I’m writing this story.

Its almost like finding a way to tell a story and bring people to your notion of understanding and grasp. So when it boils down to it – you can keep pushing to new levels of thought, conversation and writing.

But today, I realised that I truly do love to write. Not just any blogger or a lover of words or apprentice, even. What’s weird is that I didn’t even know it until 2004, when I accidentally stumbled into the creative writing side of my brain with a journal project at uni, never to return.
But that’s a different story.

Then, this year, I threw caution to the wind and admitted the truth to the world – through the notorious means of a blog, however random or varied the content. And now – well, now that beast has been released, it’s pretty much something I need to do.

The past few days have been chaotic – work is chaotic and I have deadlines and proposals and briefs crammed into every space and corner of my waking hours. This evening is my first free evening since last weekend. But when I asked myself do you want to sleep or to write? The answer reverberated throughout my head: We want to write.

So I didn’t stay back to do overtime. Not this time. Because when I neglect fulltime work, I don’t feel half as unbalanced as when I neglect my blog writing. Which is strange. It really has grown on me.

I’d like to be a great many things in my life, and I often try to be and do too many at once. My heart tells me that I should credit the girl inside who writes if I want too – I don’t have to be the girl who always eats sleeps and breathes design, not all the time. That’s pretty amazing to me. I thought if I was one, it would almost be too hard to be good any anything else. But it’s not. It’s been done before.

I know that the girl who designs is inside of me, but right now, it’s time for the girl who blogs to shine through. Not everything has to be done at once, and not everything has to be done to the nth degree.

What a concept.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Response to “Worth writing for.”

  1. druginducedreality November 27, 2008 at 5:12 pm #

    I know that guilty feeling when you don’t attend to your blog for more than a few days! You become very attached to it. I’m new to WordPress but Xanga is very addictive.

    Its great that you’re pursuing your passion for writing with so much dedication. Good luck with the blogosphere and keep posting!

Leave a Reply

