Leave your reticence at the door… Get dirty with creativity

1 Jul

Demystifying the creative process can be a dangerous thing. Sometimes it’s fastidious to think designers are rarefied beings, periodically struck by bone-shaking bolts of inspiration, rather than slobs like the rest of society, making stuff in their sinister black clothing, reviling amongst scattered toast crumbs and the fallen armies of takeaway coffee cups. But it’s simple really, you’ve got it in you …somewhere.

I’ve been reflecting on the idea of creativity for a while now, and the concept keeps escalating in front of me.
I find myself questioning the power of creativity versus the ability of it. For some reason we often deem we lack it, but the truth is it’s something that anyone can cultivate.

When do we start being creative and where does it come from?
An important question affecting us more than we realise, so as I finish my third cup of strong, black coffee, its time to seriously consider this question that’s just starting to get it’s due attention.

We are all born creative, I don’t care what your ‘green’ experience wants to you to say – everyone has the ability to do it. Best selling author, Seth Godin, quoted:

99% of the time, in my experience, the hard part about creativity isn’t coming up with something no one has ever thought of before. The hard part is actually executing the thing you’ve thought of.

Creativity is not just about pretty pictures. It’s about the ability to solve problems and innovate in the world around us. It’s talent that resonates deep and can truly make a difference in how we live, listen, relate to and perceive the world around us.

with thanks to elmada's photostream on www.compfight.com

There is a creative genius in us all and what we bring to the table makes our world so much more interesting. I have always been fascinated with the unique creative possibilities of each and every person – and finding hidden talent in others. Give me a chance and I’ll roll off into a spiel of creativity and passion that I’ve already done here. And will do again in a heartbeat.

Basically creativity evolves our cultures and enriches our lives with diversity and passion. I mean, if you stop to think for a moment, everything that surrounds us today was once just a creative idea.

4 Responses to “Leave your reticence at the door… Get dirty with creativity”

  1. betty nurse July 1, 2008 at 11:44 pm #

    we are all born creative. thats true, i believe it! i think we must sure that we can do something new, no matter what people say about us. thanks for this posting, its really helpful and nice.
    please visit my blog, and leave your comment. thank you 🙂

  2. layshiyuu July 2, 2008 at 1:11 am #

    Your thought is true, and everybody are creative but the mainly problem is how to realise it/them and how to beautify what you’ve created and indeed how to protect it/them against the pirate. Most of the time you create something and the other persons want to have it/them easily. Ok I hope to hear from you soon, and try to visit my blog

  3. JoAnn Braheny July 3, 2008 at 11:25 am #

    Absolutely: we are all born creative. And also Seth Godin rocks. However, we can partner or collaborate with someone else to produce the ideas we come up with…or be the one to make their dreams become real.
    Bravo on writing your blog. The post about Comic Sans made me laugh. I agree it is a bit overused, but I like it! My creativity blog is Goosing Your Muse. Enjoy…

  4. sandrar September 10, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

