To facebook or not to facebook?

18 Jun

So there’s this relatively new issue at my workplace that has been rising to a topic of concern over the last 6 months. Trust, facebook and the wonderful world of web 2.0.

Many sites like at many workplaces I’m sure are of course blocked. Ranging from youtube, myspace, hotmail and other nefarious means of web browsing I’m sure.

But, facebook is not blocked. So assumingly, it would be fine to use, visit occasionally and post a comment or two over lunch right?

Wrong.

The mere refresh of a facebook page is logged, tracked and frowned upon at that.
As a self-confessed and repeat offender to facebook, I find myself asking several questions.

What kind of censorship are they trying to create? For a site that pretty much most of their target population uses – they are restricting usage and preventing any contact to.

Brand X, shall we say, of all brands has a youthful audience that no doubt contains a large portion of their social scene around facebook and even myspace. In fact, this very Brand X actually has both a myspace page and several facebook pages. So why condemn and take such a narrow, dim view of this social media scene?
For a company that is trying to get a little more involved with its audience and a little more into an online social scene – where do they really want to go?


This I am still trying to grasp but a friend, who seems to have a large wealth of useful quotes and information, pointed out recently that…


“if you want to find out what sites your company should be getting involved in; go straight to your I.T department and take a look at all the ones that they are blocking…”

This poses an interesting question of how ‘in tune’ is your company with its clients and employees for that matter. And if these sites are restricted and ill-favoured, is that going to stop the majority of hardcore fans still accessing and using their facebook pages…move them onto something else? Or, more likely create a rebellion where we all still do it and no one really talks about it?

Well, I chose to take rebellion, until late last week when the marketing director called me into her office and politely said that “300 facebook hits over the last week was simply not acceptable and although we all access it – that is just to frequent”.

So…’we all access it’ still? Maybe I wasn’t so off on the concept of a popular rebellion. Or could she just agree on thought that yes, your company can be wrong and needs to take some new advice – from somewhere. I mean, just because a CEO doesn’t get it, doesn’t mean it’s not the right direction to take. …Right?

3 Responses to “To facebook or not to facebook?”

  1. David Gillespie June 19, 2008 at 3:38 am #

    It’s pretty safe to say the company clearly has no idea how to engage its audience (be the audience employees or consumers). I was searching around for a quote that was on the tip of my tongue, when I stumbled across this great clip of a new car from BMW. The design director says right at the end “Context over dogma”, and I think that is about the best quote I’ve heard in a long, long time.

    http://nowincolour.blogspot.com/2008/06/bmw-gina-flexible-skin.html

  2. Matt June 19, 2008 at 4:04 am #

    Totally agree! Just months ago I tried to get the company I work for some presence on Facebook.
    I did the rebellious move to do it and ask for forgiveness later.

    Well, I did it, proposed the idea, and it started some heated debates. A few weeks later I was out of the picture.

    From what I’ve heard, we’ve always had to jump on the band-wagon…so I shot back with that, and asked what the problem was with jumping on Facebook, effortlessly and free, to have X amount of people find the brand and logo, and subsequently land on our www. webpage.

    Not only that, having a Facebook Page would give fans the ability to add to their pages. A news feed pops up, and all their friends now know that they are fans of that company.

    Its a spider-web effect; its crazy that they don’t see that!

    I’m not giving up though, as soon as Facebook rolls out with the new design (geared toward pages and apps), I’ll see if that has changed the game.

  3. Alysha Sandow June 28, 2008 at 8:02 pm #

    “Thinking flexible, acting flexible.” Perhaps I’ll pass that on.
    Thanks for the link David 🙂

    Matt: Don’t give up. I’ve got bets on Google to bring out the next best thing to facebook. Maybe that will alter thier flexibility whenever and if ever it happens.

Leave a Reply

