Thoughts of a traffic jam.

3 Jun

The traffic stops hastily by the river at a set of lights. I stare through the window of my car, across the road and down at the smooth grey water delimited with green surrounds.
I watch as the river changes, the autumn leaves float softly into the folds of water and are drawn into the current. The fog brushes just above the water stretched out like an unruffled blanket… a reminder that it’s still winter.

A bus comes from the other direction and stops within an inch, obscuring my view.

There is a child sitting in the window across from me. The glass blown shadow of her face falls upon mine. Our gazes lock.

Her eyes are the colour of the river.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Thoughts of a traffic jam.”

  1. ameliamcmanus June 6, 2008 at 2:09 pm #

    Then all of a sudden this nice experience is interrupted by the vibrating of your mobile phone – ‘it’s meeee! Are you driving?’ ‘Have you got hands free on?’ ‘ok good!’

  2. mkoffman June 16, 2008 at 2:55 pm #

    Very nice thoughts, I wish I could come up with some of those in a traffic jam, but usually I am too frustrated with the cars ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

