The joy of finding a sharehouse

6 Apr

I have been searching hunting for a sharehouse for about 3 weeks now. I am completely blown away by how difficult it is. Where to begin…

I have restricted myself (due to too many bad sharing experiences) down to a checklist of four items.

1. Room size and cost
2. Location of house
3. The acual house & cleanliness
4. People and personallities

Surely not alot ask?

So you find a place that sounds hmmmm not too bad -within price range (which has already been bumped up a little more than the price range I was looking for last week)

Next step, (If the room is available and if you can contact the people) The interview.
Within 30 minutes or so, you have to get to know this person that ultimately you are sharing space with, and in return you have to talk about yourself. So after their 66th interview hopefully they will remember who you are and what good things you can bring to the house.

Argh. Then maybe they call you back and say thanks for your time but the thing that really gets me is the houses where you have no connection to the current tennants or cant wait to get out – They call you back and ask you to move in!
Catch 22.
Plenty out there but nothing for me. I guess I am being fussy, but hell I want to be. I have to live there afterall. and I’m not rushing into it again.

So no luck this time, next week I will line up a few more interviews and hey, I am going to become a Pro at this soon. Really. I am not doing this for fun, no matter how it may appear. (And regardless of how good the interview practice is).
So back to the drawing board ‘flatmate finders’ for some more options. Perhaps I will look in some new locations this time…

3 Responses to “The joy of finding a sharehouse”

  1. Ben April 14, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    the search contines?

  2. David Gillespie April 15, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    The search for a home is the good search. Compromise and you’ll be doing it again in 3 or 4 months.

  3. Alysha Sandow April 16, 2008 at 12:42 pm #

    Yes, very true – Although as the search continues, the results are becomming more and more contemptible.
    And I am starting to wonder if I am beginning to see it all this way as a upshot of continuous bad enconters? hmmmm… *open mind, open mind…*

Leave a Reply

